31 Days of Terror, Day 28: “Poltergeist”

As previously announced here, each day I will be posting a film to get you in the Halloween spirit. Each film is picked strategically based on what will excite you closer and closer to the big day.

DAY 28 :  Poltergeist (1982) | Rotten Tomatoes Score: 87%Image result for poltergeist gif

This list is getting a far bit too easy to write the closer I get to the end, because unfortunately I only have two new films to write about that I LOVE, and these last few have been revisits. That being said, this is horrors hall-of-fame pieces.

Released in 1982 and backed by big names like Tobe Hooper and Steven Spielberg, Poltergeist is about a family who experience intense paranormal happenings in their home, only to realize there new suburb paradise was built atop a former Indian burial ground.

When I first saw it, I was so impressed by Poltergeist as a kid, like E.T. but for the Halloween season. It was a spooky, horror spectacle. It does not surprise me that Universal Studios snatched up the opportunity to design an immersive haunted maze last year for their 80s themed Halloween Horror Nights. It was one of the most popular mazes at the park and sparked life back in to the beloved classic.

I have praised the film for its use of practical effects and how well they have withstood time to still be effectively scary today, so I will let the film do the talking and enjoy this classic as we quickly approach Halloween in two days.

Check out 2018’s Day 28 entry here for more Halloween fun! You can stream The Poltergeist here!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑