Walt Disney Animation Films: The Definitive Ranking

For almost 85 years now, Walt Disney Studios has been the frontrunner of quality entertainment for generations of families. From critters to princesses to the most iconic villains in cinema, this selection of films have stood the test of time, some better than others. Which of those films have lasted and which ones did not quite hit the mark? Well since the launch of Disney+ in November, I decided to commit to a chronological marathon of all the studios theatrically released films and ranked them!

I want to preface by saying that none of these films are BAD – some of them did not hold up well or just did not leave an impact that others do. In saying that, I created this ranking based on two crucial criteria:

Quality of Film

Generally as a film how is it? The story, dialogue, animation, and themes are all a part of what makes a Disney film memorable and lasting.

Relevance of Release

How does the movie stand against its other fellow releases that year? Does it advance technology at the time or offer something different at the time? Some films make a lasting impression on history because they were so iconic for their time.

No Disney-Pixar film exists on this list as that is a different studio, only theatrical Walt Disney Animated Studios films will be on this list. I also have chosen to look at these films in a lens set in that time of its release. What does that mean? Any racist or sexist comments made in them are being overlooked.

I’m also excited to do the video sequels following this. Shall we begin?

58. Dinosaur (2000)| RT: 64%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 2/5Image result for dinosaur 2000 gif

This film was released following the mass appeal to the Jurassic Park franchise. What Disney thought was an merger of animation and real-life shots – which would just eventually be referred to as common CGI – did not stack up, but rather looked like half-assed CGI in a Jurassic Park wannabe. It did, however, create a legendary ride at Walt Disney World.

57. Home on the Range (2004) | RT: 53%The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ... | My Rating: 2/5Image result for home on the range gif

This film holds the record of in-your-face, gross body humour made in a family film… All within the first 5 minutes! (I do not actually know if this is a real record, but it could very well contend to hold the title).

56. Make Mine Music (1946) | RT: 70% File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons| My Rating: 2.5/5Make Mine Music Disney GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

One of Disney’s short collections of short film anthology releases of the 40s is the most bizarre and least fun.

55. Melody Time (1948) | RT: 80%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 2.5/5Image result for melody time gif

Along with Make Mine Music, this release was around the same time and is a collection of shorts, and is cute, but again, just does not hold up in the studio’s filmography.

54. Saludos Amigos (1942) | RT: 83%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 2.5/5Image result for saludos amigos gif

Saludos Amigos is fun and gives us the first theatrical introduction to Donald Duck, but that is all about it has going for it. Points for exploring South American culture however.

53. Chicken Little (2005) | RT: 37%The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ... | My Rating: 2.5/5Image result for chicken littlt gif

The timely release of Chicken Little is very unfortunate. With releases like The Incredibles (2004) from Pixar and following the departure of 2D animation into CGI, watching Chicken Little today just makes me think the film looks… unfinished?

52. Bolt (2008) | RT: 89% File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons| My Rating: 2.5/5Image result for bolt 2008 gif

I was surprised this film was so widely well-received because I did not enjoy it that much at all. It is cute and fun, but ask me to tell you a run by of the plot or a funny moment, and I cannot.

51. Robin Hood (1973) | RT: 54%The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ... | My Rating: 2.5/5Image result for robin hood disnet gif

I liked Robin Hood! Unfortunately, there are just many better films Disney has released.

50. Three Caballeros (1944) | RT: 82%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for three caballeros gif

This movie is so much fun.

49. Brother Bear (2003) | RT: 37%The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ... | My Rating: 3/5Image result for brother bear gif

Ok I have to be real, I watched this movie for the first time REALLY high as part of this marathon… So it just did not leave an effect on me like the higher rankings could.

48. Dumbo (1941) | RT: 98%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for dumbo gif

The first controversial entry on this list. I’ll say it: I don’t like Dumbo. I think it is actually really boring, and I preferred the live-action remake. Sorry, not sorry.

47. The Adventures of Ichabod & Mr. Toad (1949) | RT: 93%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for the adventures of ichabod gif

The origin of Sleepy Hollow in the Disney universe is iconic, and still the headless horseman has left his impact on the parks at the best time of the year: Halloween.

46. Pocahontas (1995) | RT: 55%The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ... | My Rating: 3/5Image result for pocahontas gif

Compared to all of the other renaissance era (1989 – 1999) Disney films, Pocahontas is weak. Visually it is nice, and has a great soundtrack, but that is about it.

45. The Rescuers (1977) | RT: 80%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for the rescuers gif

This was my first time watching The Rescuers, and it was so cute! However, the 70s took a very dark depressing turn for Disney and the films looked at much heavier topics in the new age of American films, and Disney was a victim of it.

44. Black Caludron (1985) | RT: 55%The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ... | My Rating: 3/5Image result for the black cauldron gif

This entry is a cult favourite and divides the Disney community… I liked it!

43. The Sword in the Stone (1963) | RT: 68%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for the sword in the stone gif

Another first viewing for me and I liked it a lot, but it wasn’t memorable. Happy to see it is getting recognition in the Magic Happens parade now at Disneyland.

42. Fun and Fancy Free (1947) | RT: 67%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for fun and fancy free gif

A standout in terms of the original Disney compilation releases in their beginning. All of the shorts are adorable!

41. Meet The Robinsons (2007) | RT: 67%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for meet the robinsons gif

I can’t believe this was my first time seeing this movie! It is so touching and sweet, and compared to the other releases of the later 2000s it is much better and relevant.

40. The Aristocats (1970) | RT: 66%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3/5Image result for the aristocats gif

Honestly… I do not have much to say other than that it is fun.

39. Atlantis: The Lost Empire (2001) | RT: 49%The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ... | My Rating: 3/5Image result for atlantis the lost empire gif

The animation of this seems far superior as Disney began developing their 3D-but-still-2D technique. It is unique across Disney’s releases (until Treasure Planet in 2002), but the mix of action and sci-fi in an animated family film works.

38. Winnie The Pooh (2011) | RT: 91%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Winnie The Pooh GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

It was cute to see these iconic characters back in 2011, and it was still cute to revisit it.

37. Oliver & Company (1988) | RT: 51% The embargo is over and Rotten Tomatoes has aggregated scores of ...| My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for oliver and company gif

I loved this movie! It was a cute musical and very 80s, and still felt relevant in themes today that I’m disappointed it does not get more recognition today.

36. Rescuers Down Under (1990) | RT: 69%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for the rescuers down under gif

This was a massive shift is Disney animation at the time and although it got lost in the hurl of MASSIVE films like The Little Mermaid (1989) and Beauty and the Beast (1991), it is iconic in its own way.

35. Fantasia 2000 (1999) | RT: 81%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for fantasia 2000 gif

I appreciated learning the history of Fantasia 2000 more than the actually film, but it still adds fun to the original Fantasia (1940) including the addition of the short, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice.

34. Treasure Planet (2002) | RT: 69%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for treasure planet gif

This movie was cool. That’s it. It’s just rad and is transparent of its time while also not looking “too Disney”.

33. Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018) | RT: 88%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Wreck It Ralph GIF by Walt Disney Studios - Find & Share on GIPHY

I was disappointed in this movie when it was released, but only because the first was so good and did not live up to my BIG expectations. But, it is so relevant of the internet age and how we abuse it.

32. Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh (1977) | RT: 100%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for the many adventures of winnie the pooh gif

It’s the iconic Winnie the Pooh film. So it had to have a big ranking.

31. Hunchback of Notre Dame (1996) | RT: 71%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for the hunchback of notre dame gif

This is a HEAVY Disney movie, so it is a standout in the Renaissance era. Where Pocahontas failed in balancing a more serious film and thriving, this movie exceeds.

30. Snow White & the Seven Dwarfs (1937) | RT: 98%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for snow white and the seven dwarfs gif

The one that started it all… becomes outshined by its predecessors. It is still iconic and watching it today brings a smile to my face.

29. Alice in Wonderland (1951) | RT: 81%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 3.5/5Image result for alice in wonderland gif

I forgot how much of a trip this movie is.

28. Lady & the Tramp (1955) | RT: 93%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for lady and the tramp gif

That spaghetti scene is iconic enough that it bumped this film from a 3 to a 4, hence the lower rating

27. The Jungle Book (1967) | RT: 87%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for the jungle book gif

I love this movie, but it failed in taking its massive concept and failed to make an entertaining film in my opinion… something the live-action remake would do many decades later.

26. The Great Mouse Detective (1986) | RT: 79%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for the great mouse detective gif

I love a good mystery.

25. Fox & the Hound (1981) | RT: 70%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for the fox and the hound gif

This broke my heart and did not realize how impactful the story arc would become in years to follow.

24. 101 Dalmatians (1961) | RT: 98%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for one hundred and one dalmatians gif

The animation of 101 Dalmatians is so unique compared to the other Disney films around this time. The stroke and one-tone drawing technique helps the film excel.

23. Bambi (1942) | RT: 90%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for bambi gif

Similar to 101 Dalmatians, this one is beautiful to watch. You could turn the sound off and feel its beauty.

22. Wreck-It Ralph (2012) | RT: 87%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Animated gif about gif in Wreck-it Ralph by andrea

one of Disney’s most creative releases recently. Really succeeds in building a story around gaming culture.

21. The Emperor’s New Groove (2000) | RT: 85%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for emperors new groove gif

This is a genuinely hilarious movie with a big heart. I forgot how good it was. And considering how trendy it has become again with tik tok, shows how transcendent it is.

20. Tarzan (1999) | RT: 89%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for tarzan 1999 gif

This movie is so good… but my critical eye really did not like that it felt like a music video collection for a Phil Collins album. Beyonce gave us Lemonade in 2016 and did it better.

19. Fantasia (1940) | RT: 94%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for fantasia gif

Although it is a compilation of shorts, the iconography of Fantasia is far superior than some full-plot films. It gave us Sorcerer Mickey, which is iconic in itself.

18. Frozen (2013) | RT: 90% File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons| My Rating: 4/5Frozen Let It Go GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

The impact the original Frozen holds is insane. Rarely can a Disney movie earn that much money, beat Barbie, and gain a Disney parks ride in that short of time. ICONIC.

17. Cinderella (1950) | RT: 97%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for cinderella gif

One of the originals, is also one of the most boring storylines. Sorry. Still a great film.

16. Frozen II (2019) | RT: 77% File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons| My Rating: 4/5Image result for frozen 2 gif

And a far superior film to the original, Frozen II cemented the sisters and Arendelle in Disney iconography.

15. The Princess & the Frog (2009) | RT: 85% File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons| My Rating: 4/5Image result for the princess and the frog gif

I adore this movie. So much. It is so good.

14. Moana (2016) | RT: 96%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5The Rock Disney GIF by Moana - Find & Share on GIPHY

I love the skills Disney gained in introducing new female characters for the modern age. Moana is a prime example of a role model I would love to have my daughter look up to.

13. Tangled (2010) | RT: 89%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Tangled Disney GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

I’m upset this movie gets clouded by Frozen’s success. It is a far better animated film and the “I See the Light” scene above is so warming.

12. Hercules (1997) | RT: 84% File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons| My Rating: 4/5Image result for hercules gif

I forgot how great this movie is.

11. Peter Pan (1953) | RT: 80%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for peter pan gif

All racist animation aside, this is one of my personal favourites. It is the magic and charm of being a child which makes it standout as a Disney film.

10. Pinocchio (1940) | RT: 100%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Image result for pinocchio gif

This movie has some of the best animation of all time. Woah. Truly breathtaking.

9. Big Hero 6 (2014) | RT: 89%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4.5/5Big Hero 6 Hug GIF by Disney - Find & Share on GIPHY

The most original stories of the new age Disney films, it mixes action and emotion EXTREMELY well.

8. Lilo & Stitch (2002) | RT: 86% File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons| My Rating: 4.5/5Image result for lilo and stitch gif

Alike Frozen, Lilo & Stitch gained major iconic status when released and wears it well. A clever storyline with tons of heart and is actually funny.

7. Zootopia (2016) | RT: 98%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4/5Disney Animation GIF by Disney Zootopia - Find & Share on GIPHY

The most creative of all Disney films. From beginning to end, it is a clever animal pun-after-pun extravaganza, and well-written suspenseful film with a lot to say about the real world of police violence.

6. Mulan (1998) | RT: 86%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4.5/5Image result for mulan gif

Of all princesses, I would love for my daughter to look up to Mulan. Not only is she strong and powerful, the film is a great mix of music, action, and heart. Plus the mountain scene is beautifully animated.

5. Beauty & the Beast (1991) | RT: 94%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4.5/5Image result for beauty and the beast gif

a tale – and film – as old as time.

4. The Little Mermaid (1989) | RT: 93%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 4.5/5Image result for the little mermaid gif

This is my favourite Disney movie. Realistically, it is only second place when you look at the top 3…

3. Aladdin (1992) | RT: 95%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 5/5Image result for aladdin gif

… Any of these following films can be #1. They all hold the criteria that is crucial to being a Disney film….

2. Sleeping Beauty (1959) | RT: 88%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 5/5Image result for sleeping beauty gif

… They have comedy, action, and heart. They are beautifully animated and unique to their time…

1. The Lion King (1994) | RT: 93%File:Rotten Tomatoes.svg - Wikimedia Commons | My Rating: 5/5Image result for the lion king gif

…and remain staples in any Disney collection that remain iconic over time. The true reigning kings and queens of Disney films.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑